Pennywise

“Waste of Time” by Pennywise.

Words and music by Pennywise. © 2002 Epitaph records.
Thanks to “Snowboarder” for the recommendation and information.

I got a question for all you sinners
Have you ever wondered is this all there is to life?
A quick adventure- Not much to mention
A slow procession leading us to die
Or is there a heaven- A distant valley
A golden meadow waiting for us in the sky
No one right answer spirit seems broken
Still I just can’t help but wonder why
Seems like a tragic waste of time
Who cares what happens when you die?
Life’s too short to wonder why
Get on with your life
In towering churches- And holy temples
They all conspired- To tell me how to live my life
But no religion- Or new theism
Could ever provide proof to quench my mind
And now I wonder- Who’s sky I’m under
Is there a heaven- waiting for me when I die
No one right answer- Spirit seems broken
And still I can’t help but wonder why
So many questions I can’t tell the difference
Too many abstract thoughts now wrestle in my mind
But through the darkness somewhere should be waiting
A final truth to shower me with light
Their pearls of wisdom- And tales of glory
They feed me nicely until I found it was all a lie
No one right answer- Spirit seems broken
And still I can’t help but wonder why

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“My God” by Pennywise.

Words and music by Pennywise. © 2002 Epitaph records.
Thanks to “Snowboarder” for the recommendation and information.

people on the street they want to find a god
they’ll never know organized religion pulls the blinds
then they pull the wool
they open up your head
they’re fucking with your mind
now you can’t see because you’re blind
you try to make amends but your heads still spinning round
the church of jesus christ says it’s time
don’t fuck around
you want to go to heaven
you see it isn’t free
give your money up to me
my god is not the one that you wanna see
your god is a mirage
a conspiracy
you pray for forgiveness
cause your sinning scared you to death
so your money you’ll be giving
holier than thou with your one way morality
i think your shallow faith isn’t based in reality
you don’t like how we’re living
we’re sinful and obscene
why are you judging me?
you’re richer than god but you’re crying out for more
you’re living like a king while you steal from the poor
you wanna be forgiven
get on your knees and pray
send in your cash and be saved
better hope you’ve been chosen to be saved
cause your empathy only goes so far today
pay no mind to those in pain
they just want the souls that are willing to pay their way
your god’s not for me

Leave a Reply

