Harvey Danger

Meetings With Remarkable Men (Show Me the Hero)” by Harvey Danger

Words and music by Harvey Danger. © 2000 London-Sire Records, Inc. (ASCAP).

I had a lovely brunch with Jesus Christ.
He said, “Two words about inanity: Fundamental Christianity.”
The food was very nice but then He had to go and die for my sins
And stick my ass with the check.

“Show me a her and I’ll write you a tragedy.”
(Go near an open window and that’ll be the end of me.)

I bowed before the Avatar.
He said, “The problem’s clear to me: you never got over Morrissey.”
I said, “Well, right you are!”
“It’s so much harder to be underfed than under-understood, “ he said.

“Show me a her and I’ll write you a tragedy.”
(Go near an open window and that’ll be the end of me.)

I went to see Kip Winger!
He said, “In my day we knew how to party: bands today, c’mon, not hardly.”
He had a back-up singer (doo doo doo doo).
He said, “The metal scene is a disgrace, but I ain’t got no dog in that race!”

Don’t despair, your mother loves you.
Don’t be proud because she has to.
Don’t despair, your mother loves you.
Don’t be proud, she gotta

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“Humility On Parade” by Harvey Danger.

Words and music by Harvey Danger. © 2000 London-Sire Records, Inc. (ASCAP).

This road leads to Rome, that road leads to ruin.
I’m all up in the madding crowd, the general’s been screwing us around.
The land’s no longer arable (the farmlands all feel terrible).
A river red with rebel blood to sweep us off our feet, do you remember?

Humility on parade
Humility on parade
The welcome was overstayed
Humility on parade
(Let it run, let it run, let the river run)

The remnants of the leisure class will crumble!
Smug bastards will be humbled!
Forcible Miscegenation!
No bow ties, no invitations!
Goodbye to all that… you gotta look the prisoners in the eyes;
A boldness in their stare might not recognize as you struggle to recall your names:

Family and Christian family and Christian family and Christian!
Untenable position!
Here comes the inquisition!

(“Yeah, it’ll come it’ll come it’ll surely come!”)

I am the mustard on the wedding dress, the weevil in the watercress.
I lost the language, I confess.
Beyond the false horizon lies the rising sup, the rising up

Leave a Reply

