Do Atheists Hate Theists?

I do not hate theists. I am a firm proponent of the Constitution of the United States (COTUS), which makes me a Constitutionalist. I feel that everyone on this planet has the right to believe (or not believe) whatever he or she wants, and I respect his or her right to believe (or not believe) whatever he or she wants. While the COTUS guarantees the right for people to believe whatever they want, it does not guarantee the respect of those beliefs.

I respect the right for people to have any beliefs, but I do not respect all of those beliefs. There is a HUGE difference.

The actions of some theists certainly make us angry, but we don’t hate theists.

I respect the right of the KKK to believe as they do, but I do not respect their beliefs. I respect the right of the Christian Identity to believe as they do, but I do not respect their beliefs. As a black friend of mine once said, “It’s only against the law to discriminate. It is not against the law to be a racist.”

In that same sense, I respect the right of Christians to believe as they do, but I do not necessarily respect those beliefs. I respect the right of poison drinkers and snake-handlers to risk their health, but that does not mean I do not think the act is stupid.

There is only one time that I hate theists and that is when theists use their theistic beliefs as a means to justify the start of war, spread hatred, spill blood, or trample on the rights of others. There are many examples of people like this throughout history. To start a war and to spill blood over religious beliefs is incredibly stupid. There is no other way I can think of wording it. It is just plain stupid. Converting by the sword, religious intolerance, and ethnic cleansing are spiteful and hateful ways to live and they contradict the “religion equals morality” argument that theists often like to throw in the faces of non-believers.

Christians are often fond of saying, “Hate the sin, not the sinner.” Why should a Christian hate in the first place? Would they appreciate a modified version of “Hate Christianity, not the Christian?”

The theists that I hate are the theists that kill abortion clinic doctors. The theists that I hate are the theists that kill anything or anyone and say they did it because their God told them to. The theists that I hate are the theists that use the blind faith of the masses to create havoc, chaos, and bloodshed. It is for this reason I set forth the requirements needed to aver that morality requires God. When theists behave like this then there is no foundation in saying that religion equals morality. Ask the victims of these people about religious morality.

Just for clarification, I hate atheists that do the same thing (Stalin is a good example).

Leave a Reply

