Billy Joel

“Shades of Grey” by Billy Joel.

Words and music by Billy Joel. © 1993 Columbia Records.
Thanks to M. Knapp for the song suggestion.

Some things were perfectly clear
seen with the vision of youth
no doubts and nothing to fear
I claimed the corner on truth
these days it’s harder to say
I know what I’m fighting for
my faith is falling away
I’m not that sure anymore

shades of gray wherever I go
the more I find out the less that I know
black and white is how it should be
but shades of gray are the colors I see

Once there were trenches and walls
one point of every view
fight ’till the other man falls
kill him before he kills you
these days the edges are blurred
I’m old and tired of war
I hear the other man’s words
I’m not that sure anymore

Shades of gray are all that I find
when I look to the enemy lines
black and white was so easy for me
but shades of gray are the colors I see

now with the wisdom of years
I try to reason things out
and the only people I fear
are those who never have doubts
save us all from arrogant men
and all the causes they’re for
I won’t be righteous again
I’m not that sure anymore

Shades of gray are all that I find
when I look to the enemy lines
there ain’t no rainbow shining on me
shades of gray are the colors I see

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“Only the Good Die Young” by Billy Joel.

Words and music by Billy Joel. © 1998 Columbia Records.

Listen to this Song!

Come out Virginia, don’t let me wait
You Catholic girls start much too late
Oh, but sooner or later it comes down to fate
I might as well be the one

Well they showed you a statue, told you to pray
They built you a temple and locked you away
Oh, but they never told you the price that you pay
For things that you might have done

Only the good die young
That’s what I said
Only the good die young
Only the good die young

You might have heard I run with a dangerous crowd
We ain’t too pretty, we ain’t too proud
We might be laughing a bit too loud
Ah but that never hurt no one

So come on Virginia, show me a sign
Send up a signal I’ll throw you a line
That stained-glass curtain you’re hiding behind
Never lets in the sun

Darlin’ only the good die young
I tell you only the good die young
Only the good die young
Only the good die young

You got a nice white dress and a party on your confirmation
You’ve got a brand new soul, mm, and a cross of gold
But Virginia they didn’t give you quite enough information
You didn’t count on me
When you were counting on your rosary

And they say there’s a heaven for those who will wait
Some say it’s better but I say it ain’t
I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints
The sinners are much more fun

You know that only the good die young
I tell you only the good die young
Only the good die young

You said your mother told you
All I could give you was a reputation
Oh she never cared for me
But did she ever say a prayer for me?

Come out, come out, come out Virginia
Don’t let me wait
You Catholic girls start much too late
Sooner or later it comes down to fate
I might as well be the one
You know that only the good die young…

Leave a Reply

